2024 MGCA Course of the Year Award

The Michigan Golf Course Association’s Golf Course of the Year is presented at the Michigan Golf Business Conference and Vendor Fair December 2–4, 2024 at Somerset Inn, Troy. The winner of this prestigious award is also submitted to contend for the Golf Course of the Year Award nationally through the National Golf Course Owners Association.

The Course of the Year Award winner comes from MGCA’s membership and makes an outstanding contribution to the game of golf in their markets as well as being a model operation to their peers.

Award Criteria

The Course of the Year Award honors a member demonstrating four criteria:

  • Unique characteristics of your golf course.
  • Exceptional ownership and management: What makes your golf operation stand out?
  • Outstanding contribution to the community in which it does business.
  • Contribution to the game.

Additional criteria:

  • A golf facility that has one or more courses, can be awarded the Course of the Year no more than twice unless a change of ownership has occurred.
  • An applicant from a MGCA Member Course is eligible to reapply more than one time if change of ownership has occurred from the first award and has made significant changes to the golf facility since the time of the first award.
  • Nomination deadline: Friday, August 9.

2024 Nomination Process

  1. Candidates for Course of the Year are nominated by a MGCA member (course or corporate) by emailing Jada Paisley the course name.
  2. Courses that were previously nominated are automatically put forward for the current year, if they didn't win.
  3. MGCA will then reach out to the course nominee to let them know of their nomination and will forward the application.
  4. The course submits the completed application electronically through a Google Form link.


Friday, July 12 ∙ Course of the Year nominations open
Friday, August 9 ∙ Deadline to nominate a course
Friday, September 6 ∙ Deadline for nominated courses to submit an application

For courses nominated, submit your application electronically below. 

MGCA Awards Committee Process for Selection


Past Winners

 Year   Award Winner
 2023  Sundance at A-Ga-Ming Golf Resort
 2022   The Emerald Golf Course, St. Johns 
 2021   Sweetgrass Golf Club 
 2020  Stoatin Brae, Gull Lake View 
 2019   Detroit Golf Club 
 2018   The Heather, Boyne 
 2017   The Majestic at Lake Walden  
 2016   Belvedere Golf Course 
 2015    Forest Dunes 
 2014   The Legend at Shanty Creek, Bellaire 
 2013   Sycamore Hills Golf Club, Macomb 
 2012   Grand Traverse Resort, Traverse City 
 2011   Scott Lake Country Club, Comstock Park 
 2010   Gull Lake View Resort, Augusta 
 2009   Crystal Mountain Resort, Thompsonville 
 2008   Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills 
 2007   Boyne Resorts, Boyne 
 2006   Eagle Eye Golf Course, Bath 
 2005   Treetops, Gaylord 
 2004   Timberstone Golf Course, Iron Mountain 
 2003  Fox Hills Golf and Banquet Center, Plymouth 

Follow Us


Michigan Golf Course Association - MGCA
East Lansing, MI

1005 Abbot Road, Suite A
East Lansing, MI 48823

P: 517-482-4312
F: 517-267-8984

Call Us



 ngcoa logo

 sbam logo